Impacted crop, sour crop???? What exactly am I dealing with? *UPDATE*

freestargirl

Chirping
8 Years
Jul 19, 2011
NC Foothills
I'm a newbie. I have 6 Golden Comets that are about 2 months olds. One of them, I noticed had a sizeable lump on her front right side on Sunday. I talked to 2 'chicken friends' and they both said 'oh that's the crop, you can sometimes see it after they've eaten.' I didn't mess with it too much, but it was squishy and kinda freaked me out. Yesterday it was bigger, and it was squishy in the AM. By lunch time it was harder and had spread to both sides, so I started research.