Inbreeding?

Lyn862

In the Brooder
11 Years
Apr 12, 2008
Oakley, Idaho
I have 10 hens, several different breeds, and 1 rooster. I've been thinking about hatching chicks next spring. I realize that they will be mongrel chickens. Let's call them hybrid. I am fine with that. That got me thinking about the year after. After the first year, suddenly all my chickens will be related to each other. So if I only kept pullets and got rid of the male chicks, then I would have father-daughter matches with my second generation. This bugs me. I'm new to all this and not a farm girl, so maybe I don't understand how the world works. Is the easiest way out of this dilemma to order in fertilized eggs for a broody hen to hatch? Or replace your rooster? Or just relax a little about the inbreeding thing? What is your best advice to a city girl who lives in the country?

I would say relax. They should be fine.
smile.png

You could order fertilized eggs for the broody hen to hatch. That way you will be getting new blood in your flock.

Last edited:
I have this one hen that I just hatched eggs from. She is a little black barnyard mix. The rooster that fertilized her eggs is her brother. And these are the prettiest babies I have ever seen! I haven't had a problem with the inbreeding, though I don't hatch out those eggs often, they were my test hatch before I put my Silver Sebright eggs in there.

Some people do frown upon it. Here is a link to a page about it:
http://www.the-coop.org/wwwboard/discus/messages/15/6117.html

Go ahead and switch out your rooster. While a "mutt" inbred back to her sire won't produce as much deleterious homozygosity in the offspring as a purebred back to her purebred sire (because purebreds already are more genetically similar), you still run the risk of doubling up on undesirable genes, and there could be some slight inbreeding depression in the offspring, lower hatch rates, etc.