Incubator info wanted-one annoyed mama

silky ma

Songster
12 Years
Sep 14, 2007
Ok guys, i am truly ticked off!! Im not a newbie, ive hatched eggs since 1998-
And ive just about had enough of incubators that do not perform.
I always prefer to let my broodie silkies do the job- so dependable - but i have been trying to hatch sweetgrass turkey poults and i am on my 4/5 batch of eggs- lost count.

This last incubator has been giving me fits! It will not keep moisture levels steady and i just tried to add more water- by syringe and hose thru a small hole- and it started to pee water onto my table from underneath thru a tiny hole i did not know was there!

So far out of my tries to hatch- i got 4 poults- those were by my silkie hens- 2
Each. Yes my eggs came by mail- texas- im in california- yes turkey eggs can be hard to hatch- expected that-and yes while i got 4 poults- 2 died- one just croaked- no apparent reason and the other decided to hop/ leap/ flutter into. My koi pond- yes wing was clipped-they are not the smartest birds!
I def have one tom- almost 3 months and the second is almost 2 months and so far im praying real real hard its a hen!

So now i have always used a hovabator- mixed results but at least i got chicks- did not use it this time because it died and the one in pic is new and it was too late to use it for the 7 eggs i am trying to hatch and broody silkie is ready for babes but she cannot hsndle all 7 babies!

So is there an incubator out there or plans to build one that i can DEFINATELY DEPEND ON??????????
This yellow one is crap!!!! I cant even find a name on it!!

Attachments

• IMG_5629.JPG
    IMG_5629.JPG
    411.1 KB · Views: 8
Yep, that's one of those cheap knock off ones that pretty much suck. Unfortunately with incubators, if you want good quality you do have to pay for it. A good one is going to cost you over $100.