INJURED CHICKEN HELP NEEDED!

chicksgirl123

Hatching
Oct 25, 2015
Last night my chicken was attacked by a raccoon but I was able to quickly get the raccoon to run away but in the meantime it left one of my chickens badly wounded on her backside. She has been isolated in a dog crate from the other chickens to help her recovery process.

Background information on the chicken:
- 4 years old
- Americana
- Weighs about 4-6 pounds

She is running around, eating, and drinking as normal which is good. I started her on Vetrimycin and a, giving her a vitamin supplement in her water as well.

Looking for any extra advice for how to take care of the wound please. See picture below to see the wound.

I am no expert by any means but I have many rescue chickens/ducks who have arrived with injuries so I will tell you what I would do if this happened to one of mine. I would first start her on an antibiotic to prevent any infections, because who knows what the raccoon may have had. I like Tylan-50 given orally or Duramycin in water. Make sure you clean the wound very very well. I usually clean with Benzoyl Peroxide repeatedly until it is no longer foaming and apply iodine for extra measure. If she is indoors you can apply a triple antibiotic ointment but that doesn't work too well if she's in the coop. Tractor Supply carries something called blu-kote that sprays on them and protects the wound.

I clean wounds every single day with peroxide and iodine, and I've had great success using epsom salts water. You could use a dish cloth and soak in the warm epsom salts water and apply to her back for a few minutes each day. I've found this helps a lot with wounds and the girls don't seem to mind being pampered with a warm cloth. I do this after cleaning it, and then I pat dry and apply blu-kote or triple antibiotic ointment.

I hope this helps, keep us posted on how she is doing!