Is it okay to leave eggs to hatch in an auto turner?

howfunkyisurchicken

Crowing
11 Years
Apr 11, 2011
Tn
That's the question. I have to admit, I'm an auto turner newbie, but I splurged and got myself one this year! I've always just turned them by hand. Anyway, I only have one incubator, so if I take the turner out at lockdown, I'm assuming I'd have to fiddle with the temp on my incubator to get it to where its supposed to be if the eggs have to sit lower (the specs for the turner say its 3" high). I REALLY don't want to have to do that. The trays are supposed to be dishwasher safe, so I assume its okay to just leave the eggs in it? My bator is an LG with its accompanying turner. Thanks in advance!

If you have a forced air the temperature should not change. In a still air, it will so you might need to fiddle with it a bit. LG makes both still air and forced air.

The reasons to consider taking the egg turner out.

1) Clean-up. If you are willing to put it through your dishwasher, not a problem for you.

2) My turner (different one from yours) has a lot of sharp corners a chick could get a leg or wing caught in. I would not want mine in there when the chicks are crawling around.

That's the question. I have to admit, I'm an auto turner newbie, but I splurged and got myself one this year! I've always just turned them by hand. Anyway, I only have one incubator, so if I take the turner out at lockdown, I'm assuming I'd have to fiddle with the temp on my incubator to get it to where its supposed to be if the eggs have to sit lower (the specs for the turner say its 3" high). I REALLY don't want to have to do that. The trays are supposed to be dishwasher safe, so I assume its okay to just leave the eggs in it? My bator is an LG with its accompanying turner. Thanks in advance!