Just joined!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rowdy Roosters, Dec 4, 2014.

1. Rowdy Roosters

Rowdy Roosters New Egg

Dec 4, 2014
    British Columbia, Canada
    Hello...I'm a newbie! New to chickens and a new member. I have joined because I have a chicken problem and believe that I may have a six month old speckled sussex with Mareks. She is part of a group of five that were vaccinated and have been part of our small flock since July. She has been symptomatic for about two weeks but there are no signs that anyone else is infected. Her symptoms started as a slight limp, which progressed to a major limp after about three days. I kept her in a small coop outside with her mates, but let the mates out during the day. She eats and drinks as per normal. Her limp has now progressed to her tripping over her wing and getting stuck on her side periodically. There are no visible lumps or bumps, no discoloration, nothing that seems broken. It is confusing and reading through all the info is not making it less confusing!
    At this point I need to know is it worth stressing her out by completely separating her from the flock? I know if it is Mareks the entire yard and flock will already have been contaminated. Should I just euthanize her and get her tested? Not sure what the best course of action is and can only hope that I have not thoroughly contaminated my flock and all ideas of starting my small hatchery. Any advice is appreciated.
    Cheers!

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

I'm sorry about your sick hen. [​IMG]Unfortunately, it does sound like she may have Marek's disease. I would post about her in the Emergencies section of the forums, where I'm sure members would be glad to offer as much help as possible: Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures

Good luck!

1 person likes this.
  3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida