Left Out Chick

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mgarrett, Apr 17, 2012.

1. mgarrett

mgarrett Out Of The Brooder

Apr 14, 2012
    Tennessee
    I am new to the world of raising my own backyard chickens, and will probably have about 100 questions.

I have 2 Buff Orpingtons and 1 SLW pullets that I bought at my
    local farmer's co-op. I'm pretty sure they're about 3 weeks old. The problem is that the 2 Orpingtons seem to be very friendly with one another- always cuddled together, eating at the same time, etc; however, the SLW seems to be the "outcast." Every time I go to check on them/play with them the two Orpingtons are together and the SLW is perching on the side of the box or in an opposite corner by herself. I'm wondering if this is normal and if there's anything I can do to help her not be all alone?

Thanks!

2. OreoPlymothRock

OreoPlymothRock Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2012
    Florida
    chicks cannot be lonely, why dont you get her another SLW? What is the exact age of the SLW and the BOs? because if the BOs are older, then that might be the problem

3. mgarrett

Apr 14, 2012
    Tennessee
    Well, the coop I have is really only designed for 3 hens as it only has room 3 nesting boxes- so getting a 4th is really a last resort. The employees at the co-op told me they were all "around 2 weeks old" when I got them (so close to 3 weeks now if that was accurate, which according to pictures seems to be pretty close).

I'm wondering if it's because the SLW really just enjoys perching more than the other two as she definitely seems a little more flighty than the Orpingtons (but also, so far, more personable). I will consider getting a 4th and try to make adjustments if it seems necessary as I definitely don't want a lonesome hen, but any other options would be great to hear as well. Thanks!

4. yakibert

yakibert Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2008
    Whidbey Island, Wa