Letting chickens know where "home" is

aimeemarie01

In the Brooder
Jun 22, 2016
Rutland MA
Hi, I'm still new to chickens, I've only had them about 3 months and I've been reading up on them and I've seen some people say that when I introduce them to their outdoor coop I should keep them inside it for almost a week. I've had my chickens outdoors about a month and never kept them in longer than overnight. Should I try it now? They get very upset if I put them in the coop before dusk. They seem like they know they where "home" is but sometimes I'm not sure. Unless it's after dark, I have to chase them for a while to get them in the coop and every time they get frightened they run to my door. Does this mean they are confused and should I try keeping them inside for a week?

It seems that opinions differ. I usually only keep new chickens in the coop for 48 hours and after that, they know where to go at dusk.

CT

My coops have attached runs so when I want to retrain them to "home", I keep them in their coop/run set ups for a week or so. Something to take into consideration is the size of your coop and the number of hens. If you have a larger shed-type coop and no run, it could be OK to just leave them in there, but if you have one of those little pre-fab doll house type coops and no run, they'd be too crowded for that.

They get very upset if I put them in the coop before dusk.
How so? If I want to put the chooks inside early, they don't really have a say about that.... LOL

I find the way to get them to go inside willingly is to do the "pied piper" with something yummy to eat. They don't mind going inside when they're getting something to go inside for.

How so?  If I want to put the chooks inside early, they don't really have a say about that.... LOL

I find the way to get them to go inside willingly is to do the "pied piper" with something yummy to eat.  They don't mind going inside when they're getting something to go inside for.