Likelihood of Exploding Egg?

TeePants

Songster
10 Years
Aug 11, 2011
So I only have 5 eggs in the bator, and it's past day 14. I haven't removed any due to the small number of them, but this recent rash of egg-splosions has me worried. We did have one egg that smelled a little hard-boiled if you got real close and took a whiff, but the shell is too thick to get anything from candling it, so I was scared to accidentally throw out a good egg.

I have 3 suspect blanks that don't smell at all. Should I be throwing them out or just leave them alone? This is my first time incubating and I don't want to accidentally toss something viable, but by this point it should be sort of obvious? IDK. Any thoughts? I don't want an explosion emergency!

My personal opinion would be if you are past day 14, and your eggs are looking the same as day one. They are not going to hatch.

I am currently on my first incubation, but you can tell a growing egg. Veins, movement, etc... Even the fact that when they get bigger and grow, the egg will get darker and harder to see threw.

And smell, I wouldn't trust. But I think its all personal feeling.

Hope this helped.

I agree if they seem the same.....you should weed them out. By day 14 I could see veins and obvious movement in the eggs, plus the air sac was getting alot bigger. Also the ones that weren't good were liquid....just by moving them a little you could feel there was nothing there. This is my first hatch, too and I know what you mean about not wanting to lose one. I started with 10 BCM and 24 Araucana......by lock down I only had 10.....and 1 egg that I thought was no good had a viable chick......I was heartbroken. But better for you to have a few healthy ones and not risk the eggsplosion. It's really bad! Good luck
hmm.png