lockdown questions before lockdown

sloallie10

Songster
11 Years
Nov 8, 2008
CA
I have two bators due the 20th and the 26th. I am a newbie to incubating.
The one due on the 20th is a LG w/o a automatic egg turner, with 12 shipped eggs.
The one due on the 26th is a HB w/ automatic egg turner, with 16 non shipped eggs.
I ahve a few questions regarding both bators.
For the LG w/o auto turner: I do not have a humitifier. But I am planning on adding water so all the little resivoiors are filled up, AND adding a wet rag or sponge, SOUND OK SO FAR? I am planning on adding all this water the the bator on day 18 correct? Also, I am planning on opening BOTH vent holes, on day 18, correct? Now, what if my temp goes down? Do i bump it back up?

For the HB w/ auto turner: I have the same questions above ^ regarding this incubator too. Do I need to do all of the stuff^ to this bator too? Also, i am planning on turning off the auto turner on day 18. DO i romove the eggs from the turner or do i just turn it off and let them be?

thanks guys

I would appreciate it if you guys would reply with your info, advice and any tips!!
smile.png

Take out the turner at lockdown. Fill all the water channels. I usually get a pack of 4 dollar tree sponges and set one under the vent hole at the back and another under the vent hole at the front. You can cut them in half if the bator is too full. If you need to add water you can just pull out the plugs and use a straw or medicine dropper to add water to the sponges, then replace the plugs. Did you have the vent plugs out through your incubation? They should be out for the first 18 days for air circulation, and in for lockdown. After the chicks start to pip your humidity will probably spike. You can take out 1 vent plug till it goes down. I used to flip the plug upside down and set it over the hole so just a little bit of air gets in/out. You don't want the humidity to get too high.

Good luck!
jumpy.gif

Quote: