1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Looking for advice!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cowgirl9102, Sep 29, 2015.

1. Cowgirl9102

Cowgirl9102 New Egg

Sep 29, 2015
    Eolia,MO
    Hello everyone!
    I'm new to the world of chickens and my husband and I just bought a small farm and are planning on adding chickens! What I want to ask is; what breeds would work best for us?

We want them for eggs, but we also have 14 month old twins, so I want hens that will be egg producers and friendly enough for my daughters to interact and play with them. We plan on getting chicks from the start to avoid introducing multiple grown hens to each other.

I've been doing a lot of research and the two that I am most interested in are the Americaunas and the Barred Rocks. Any other suggestions?

Thank you!!

2. The Chicken-Boy

The Chicken-Boy Out Of The Brooder

Red Stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They are SO friendly and are great layers.

1 person likes this.
  3. Cowgirl9102

Cowgirl9102 New Egg

Sep 29, 2015
    Eolia,MO
    Okay!
    I also forgot I am in MO and sometimes we have pretty cold winters, our plan for our coop is to be able to provide heat lamps, or some other heat source for them, from what I read the two breeds I mentioned earlier do pretty okay during winter, will Red Stars also?

4. JGodshall12

JGodshall12 New Egg

Sep 13, 2015