Looking for help identifying Marans

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by millejn3, Jun 6, 2010.

1. millejn3

millejn3 In the Brooder

Mar 27, 2010
    central IL
    Hello Everyone,
    I bought some BC maran eggs off ebay and had two odd balls hatch out. One male and one female. They both have litely feathered shanks. I emailed the person that I bought them from and he said they would turn out to be either Black tailed Buff or Wheaton Sport. Im looking for input on these birds so Im attaching pics to see if anyone can help me figure out what they truely are. Im completely new to the world of Marans so I have no clue to what they really are. Are they mutts? Any help would be awsome!!!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 6, 2010
  2. CantSkipThis1

CantSkipThis1 In the Brooder

May 17, 2010
    Bonita
    I have no idea what your birds are but I will say I bought some chicks from a lady who bought the eggs off ebay. She was told they were Black Copper marans and Wheaten Marans. I ended up with two Wheaten Marans and 6 Olive Eggers. The Olive Eggers were a Araucana crossed on a Marans. Who ever sold her the eggs lied about what they were. Both of my pure Wheaten Marans have heavly feathered shanks and the Olive Eggers have litely feathered shanks. Im guessing this person has Marans hens that are getting bred by a Araucana Roo so the eggs are still coming out dark brown. Goodluck!

3. millejn3

millejn3 In the Brooder

Mar 27, 2010
    central IL
    I had 7 out of 12 eggss hatch and these two birds are the odd balls. The other five are looking like typical BC marans with lite feathering on the shanks and propper coloring starting to show.

4. bishopschickens

bishopschickens Songster

May 23, 2008
    Cumberland, VA
    They look like they are crossed with a wheaten I would guess. (bcm/wheaten). If you are interested in anymore you can see ours at www.bishopschickens.com

Brandon

5. blackdotte