Mail Order Chicks Dying!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by The Chickeneer, Jan 5, 2013.

1. The Chickeneer

The Chickeneer ~A Morning's Crow~

So we went to go pick up the chicks from the post office today, and when i opened the box, 6 were dead. I ordered 25 chicks from Meyer Hatchery, and got 2 extras. So out of 27, I have 21 and a few more chicks don't look so good.

What can I do to help them? I have them inside in a plastic bin with their heat lamp and food and water. i dipped all their beaks in the water, so they drank a little bit. This is my first time ever ordering from a hatchery, and the chicks are in terrible shape. A couple are bearly clinging to life, and just lay limp. The rest stand around with their eyes closed and cheep loudly.

I have raised chicks for many years, but I always hatch my own or buy from the feed store, they are always lively and attentive. These look slow and kind of sick, and I have no idea what i can do to help them. Suggestions anyone??!!

2. Makomd

Makomd Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2011
    ES of MD , USA
    Sounds like you have it covered. I would make sure the heat lamp is low for a bit, if it was cold that got to them. You also may want to cook some eggs yolks chop them up and let them eat for a little boost. Raw ACV or poultry vitamins in their water if you have any.

Not sure what it is but I had some chicks that got cold a few weeks back --4 looked dead but I saw just a twitch in their legs. Needless to say 3 made it after some time exposed to heat from my incubator I had going for the NYD Hatch.

Hope all goes well.

3. jaj121159

jaj121159 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2010
    Northeast Nebraska
    Meyer probably has a policy to replace DOA chicks. You should look it up on their website and look for the small print.

4. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL