Mama hen eating only starter chick food ok?

emimiller8

Chirping
7 Years
Feb 9, 2013
Central Coast, CA
My mama hen is raising the chicks separate from the rest of the flock in the guest bedroom of our house. I was told that it is ok to just feed her the chick food. I have noticed the her comb and waddle are starting to fade from the bright red, should I be concerned? If so what should I do. I took her away from the chicks and put with the flock for about 5 min today and she was freaking out and so were the chicks. Do I need to get her back on her laying feed? Please help. Thanks

Chick starter also has way more protein than she needs....do not separate her from the chicks....I'm not an expert on how to feed mama hens that are brooding, but if it were me I would give her a dish of her normal food, but see if you can raise it higher so the chicks can't get at it. See if she will default back to her own food.

LAYER FEED, 18 weeks and older (The Big Girls)
Layer feed is available in mash, crumble or pellet forms, all of which describe the size of the feed; mash is the smallest, pellets, the largest. Layer feed contains 16-18% protein plus added calcium that is required for eggshell production. Laying hens can be fed layer ration as early as 18 weeks or as late as the arrival of their first egg, but should not be fed to birds younger than 18 weeks old.
While layer feed contains calcium, an additional source of calcium, such as crushed oyster shells or clean eggshells, should be made available in a separate dish, apart from the feed. All laying hens have different calcium requirements and will consume as much calcium as they need. Oyster shells should never be added directly to feed as excess calcium can be detrimental to those not requiring as much.
Hens deprived of adequate amounts of calcium will begin utilizing the calcium stored within their own bones to produce eggshells.