Mating and egg laying questions.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chichi56788, Oct 24, 2010.

1. chichi56788

chichi56788 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2010
    Columbia, SC
    I have 2 silkies. A 6mo pullet and a 5mo cockerel. I just got them back from the state fair and put them in a cage together to quarantine them. I was just turning around when I heard a loud noise coming from my pullet. I turned around and thought they were fighting...It took me a while to relies what was going on. [​IMG] Im relatively new to raising chickens so I have a few questions:

1. Does the pullet get hurt?
    2. She hasn't started laying yet. Will mating make her lay?
    3. When she does lay, will her eggs be fertile?
    4. Is it normal for them to mate this young?
    5. Is there anything specific I should do?

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

Yah, chicken sex is not pretty. But at least it doesn't offend the eyes for longer than a very few seconds!

1. Does the pullet get hurt?
    If the cockerel/rooster grabs her comb, there could be blood. Having feathers pulled OUT is painful, if she struggles that much. Just having feathers pulled isn't pleasant but certainly well within normal ranges of chicken behavior.

2. She hasn't started laying yet. Will mating make her lay?
    No. She has to mature first. Nothing will FORCE that - it will be on her own internal, hormonal schedule.

3. When she does lay, will her eggs be fertile?
    If the rooster(s) keep mounting her, her eggs will be fertile.

4. Is it normal for them to mate this young?
    It is perfectly normal for the cockerel to mount everything in sight at this age. He's full of raging testosterone and is crazy with it.

5. Is there anything specific I should do?