Molting... not eating, rarely drinking...

TinaRew

Chirping
Aug 4, 2022
Glenmoore, PA
I only have 3 girls and this is their first time molting. I'm new to this so I'm not sure what normal molting behavior is like.

The girls are miserable. They've been hanging out in the coop most of the day (I do suspect it's also possible they are doing this because of the time of year and seeing more hawks out and possibly other predators), but one of my girls especially I'm not even sure she's eating or drinking much. When I take her away from the coop by herself she will drink water from a dog bowl as if she's never drank before! I tried putting a dog bowl with water in the run to help. With food, I haven't seen her at the feeder - but I'm not out all the time so I can't be sure. When I throw scratch in, she's not been interested. Is this normal when they're molting?

I haven't been able to see what poop is hers, so I'm going to try to look for it later today when we bring her out of the run later. I don't see any other visible issues with her vent, feet, lice/mites, nothing. It seems the only thing I can tell is the molting.

I'm not even sure if my other girls are eating and drinking less also, they all seem so miserable, but she just is the most noticeable in not even going after scratch.

Any ideas?

Some can be miserable when molting. Generally they keep eating and drinking. Do you provide multiple feeders and waterers? Sometimes the lower ranking birds get bullied away from using them so it's best to provide multiple options so all can get some.

The stresses of fall can bring on illnesses. You could try giving her some vitamins to see if it helps. You also should be feeding a higher protein ration in the fall. Not sure if you are feeding a layer ration or not, but it's generally recommended to switch off of it when hens are molting to something with more protein.