Moving Into A New Coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by brwneggs, Jun 24, 2010.

1. brwneggs

brwneggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2010
    Northern Indiana
    We are going to be building a better chicken mobile for Isa brown girls and their cocky Isa Brown rooster. Will it be a hard transition for them to move into a new place? Espically when they are going to lay? Thank you

2. mgw

mgw Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2010
    Eastern Wa.
    Im no expert but I think they will transition just fine ours did. luck to ya!

3. brwneggs

Jun 21, 2010
    Northern Indiana
    mgw,
    Thank you for your reply.

4. Chicken Chat

Chicken Chat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    I have moved my girls a couple of times without much trouble. The only thing you might have a problem with is when it is time to go up at night. I had to pick them up and put them in the coop, they were roosting in tree branches, bushes, etc. That only lasted a couple of days before the light bulb came on and they figured it out. If they were close to laying, I would put some fake eggs in the nest boxes to insure that they would lay in there. Never had a problem. Good luck.[​IMG]

5. brwneggs

Jun 21, 2010
    Northern Indiana
    Where can you purchase fake eggs? We use to have some yrs ago, but they disappered.

Quote:

6. MareeZoCool

MareeZoCool Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG] from Ohio! I think your chickens & roo will adjust to the new coop just fine. [​IMG] They will take a day or two to inspect their new home. Don't be surprised if there's a slow-down in eggs at first. [​IMG] BEST OF LUCK TO YOU, my feather loving friend!

7. silkieowner

silkieowner Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2010