Muscovy Drakes and agression at mating time:-/

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MuscovyLover, Mar 10, 2014.

1. MuscovyLover

MuscovyLover Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2014
    Victoria, Australia
    Hi all:)
    I'm a relative newbie to the world of raising Muscovies and I'm having my first big hiccup!
    I need some advice:-/
    I have three girls and one drake that are all siblings.
    I raised them from two weeks old and they're pets. Quite friendly. I hand fed them grubs and worms when they were little so they are all quite large too.
    They will be six months old in a few weeks and we still haven't had any eggs or mating so i decided it might be worth a try getting a se ond drake as mine free range around the front yard all day and there are a few girls.
    He came from a pen of 8 drakes so is quite battered and much smaller tthan mine, though he is about 1 year old.
    The moment I opened the box he was in, my drake attacked him. The girls even got in on it too. It was horrible! I pulled my drake off the new boy and locked him in his pen. He went crazy!
    I gave him some time to cool off then let him out again and he ran around the yard mating all of the girls and attacking the new drake again.
    My thinking is that he isn't attempting to defend himself as he is used to this and realises he is smaller and weaker than my boy. I have been leaving him in the pen during the day with tonnes of food and putting him in the shed at night on his own so he can grow stronger and his wings can repair themselves. Is this the right thing to do?