1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Muscovy ducks and cold weather

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by showjumper_girl2002, Jan 2, 2012.

1. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    I live in Florida and have two scovy's that are 4 months old. Though Florida normally has good warm weather it's gonna be cold for a few days (37 degrees is the coldest so far) I'm worried about them being in this cold of weather. I'm new to scovy's is it ok for them to be out in 30 degree weather? They have a little hutch that's made from chicken wire with a tarp over one side of it for protection from wind and rain. Do I need to put them in a crate and bring them in at night?

2. keeperofthehearth

keeperofthehearth Chillin' With My Peeps

They should be fine. Do you have straw or pine shavings for them to snuggle down into? Mine have been doing just fine out all day in high 20's though they prefer warmer weather & I do close mine in at night so they are out of the wind/rain/snow.

3. showjumper_girl2002

showjumper_girl2002 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    Ok that's a relief! [​IMG] they have hay and a box to go in too. Thanks! [​IMG]

4. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    it was getting so cold here in TN that i couldnt bare it no longer and made a sock sweater for my 1 1/2 month old rouen duckling [​IMG] i coulnt let him out there without a sweater..........

hope you dont mid a pic [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    (hes a runt, so he has very few feathers, he also has 3 other ducks to warm up with...)

5. puppies9099

puppies9099 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2013
    Classified