my babies are dying

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by callie&co., Jan 15, 2010.

1. callie&co.

callie&co. Out Of The Brooder

Jan 15, 2010
    Lake Charles
    I just got 5 chicks yesterday. 2 Ameraucana and 3 Barred rocks. 1 Am was dead when i got here and the other died soon after. My 3 Barred rocks are not doing well. they don't eat or drink that i see and i don't know what to do. they just kind of lay around like they don't have any strength. the brooder is at about 93 degrees and they are not huddling so i don't think temp is the problem. these are my first chicks and it kills me to see them so weak. any ideas about what i could do?

2. tcp97b

tcp97b Out Of The Brooder

Jan 3, 2010
    Abilene, TX
    I'm new to this, so I may not help much, but are they from a hatchery? If so did you meet them at the post office or were they delivered to your house? Have you been dipping their beaks in water? Sorry I can't be more helpful.

Ty

3. callie&co.

Jan 15, 2010
    Lake Charles
    they are from Ideal and the ladies at the post office called me as soon as they got there so i met them at 6am. I've been trying to dip their beaks but they just kinda turn away. i've never done this so i didn't really expect them to be in such bad shape. I really didn't expect them to live through the night but they did and truthfully they still look pretty much the same

4. CheerfulHeart2

CheerfulHeart2 Creative Problem Solver

Apr 8, 2009
    Phoenix, AZ
    Do they have poo stuck to their bottoms? If so, clean them up. Make sure they are getting water...have they learned to drink? That is all I know to try. I hope things turn around. [​IMG]

5. birdlover

birdlover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Northern Va.