My Chicken Tractor.

Snortch

In the Brooder
7 Years
Apr 22, 2012
Cullman, Alabama
I made it out of old 2x4s from a shed I tore down a few years ago. It has a top area that provides shade over the nest boxes and can be raised on hinges to allow me to collect the eggs and get the feeder and waterer for refilling. The way I made the wheels be able to raise and lower the tractor works much better than I was expecting! I have 2 handles on the other end and it's a simple matter to lift and move it.

Here is how the wheels work.

Down

Up!

Last edited:
I just found these forums today, looks like a great place to learn about backyard chickens! I have never tried to raise any before, so this will be a great reference of I have problems.

Well, it seems to be fairly dog-proof...there are a bunch of dogs that roam the neighborhood, even though Alabama has a leash law. I looked out after I got out of the shower, tonight, and saw 2 out there, one was really pawing at the wire. A quick pop of ratshot from my pistol (don't worry, I was at least 100 feet away and I didn't aim right at them) hopefully taught them to stay away. The chicken wire was distorted, but the way I wrapped it around the 2x4s top and bottom with staples held.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions as how to make it completely dog-proof? I am to much of an animal lover to actually shoot the dogs. I'm thinking an added layer of stronger wire over the chicken wire.

Last edited:
Well, it seems to be fairly dog-proof...there are a bunch of dogs that roam the neighborhood, even though Alabama has a leash law. I looked out after I got out of the shower, tonight, and saw 2 out there, one was really pawing at the wire. A quick pop of ratshot from my pistol (don't worry, I was at least 100 feet away and I didn't aim right at them) hopefully taught them to stay away. The chicken wire was distorted, but the way I wrapped it around the 2x4s top and bottom with staples held.