Songster
12 Years
Jan 18, 2008
Conway SC
newcoop001.jpg

newcoop002.jpg

newcoop003.jpg

newcoop004.jpg

It is 8x8 and this is the 4th one I have built but it's really easy.

Hi scgamecock,
That is a nice coop. Your chickens will surely love it.

I have one question. What kind of predators do you have in your area?

Good luck with the nice new coop,
Ed

Are the walls sturdy enough to hold nesting boxes? And a snake only needs a 1/4 inch space to crawl through to the chickens.

It's a nice coop, but how safe is it? Are you going to predator proof it?

Good idea with the lattuce work depending on where you are (and I really didn't look I guess). In my area, it would work GREAT! You actually gave me a good idea! It doesn't get very cold here in NE TX. I don't think I will do all 4 walls that way, but the lattuce is a heck of a cheap fix for something I was thinking about for my coop.

That being said, I'm a complete newbie and have only had chickens for 7 weeks. I don't have a clue as to what I say so don't listen to a bit of it. I would worry about predators being your on the ground. I have a friend that has a coop that he put a 2x4 all around the ground to keep out creepy crawly stuff and then put the coop a couple of feet off the ground to keep out other stuff. He still has trouble with foxes. Point being is that I am a welder by weekend, yet I am having the toughest time trying to come up with a chicken coup. Go figure!

It's the 4th one like it that I have built.I haven't built the run yet, that will be in a couple of weeks.I don't really have a problem with any predators,
fl.gif