Need information about roosters

jazzymbf

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 25, 2014
So I recently started my first flock and ordered 8 pullets. One didnt make it and now Im pretty sure one of my Barred Rocks is a rooster. His comb is much redder and bigger than my other Barred Rock and he now crows a little bit. I tried to get a friend with a large flock to take him, but her roosters are too aggressive for this one. He's about 7 weeks old. I don't know what to do with him because he's my favorite of my flock and is the most affectionate of my flock. He's calm and submissive to my largest pullet.

My concern is if I cant find him a home, Id like to keep him. However since Im new to this, I dont know if he'd be noisy being by himself, or maybe calmer. He is handled every day and greets me when I see him. Id hate to get rid of him, but Id like some information about what Id be getting myself into for keeping him.

Any information would be appreciated. Thanks

Yes, he is a male.

Noisiness depends mainly on genetics but also individual predispositions and experiences, and health. So basically he will be noisy if he's genetically inclined to it and healthy, but being unwell, or harassed regularly, can make him either noisier or quieter. Leghorns are terrible for noise levels and frequency. I don't know about BRs though, I did have some once but they were pretty average.

They crow regardless of having other males around or not, but having others around can inspire them to crow more, in reply.

As for what to expect in terms of aggression and so forth, it helps to remember chickens are individuals too, and nowhere near as stupid as the average perception of them states. The dumber he is, the more likely he is to be aggressive. Smart chooks know not to peck or spur the hand that feeds them.