need some seasoned advice

TeamChaos

Songster
10 Years
Nov 8, 2009
I am new to chickens, but not to life and the internet- I've learned by personal experience that one should NOT google every medical symptom they have or else they will read every gnarly worst case scenario story on the 'net and be surprised if they live to see another day. I'm wondering if the same goes for chicken keeping. I've read several books, an embarrassing amount of poultry magazines and, well, I joined this board in order to prepare for keeping chickens. I have five girls that are from the feedstore and are 16 weeks old and I have twenty one chickens from ideal that are 10 weeks old (10 packing peanut roosters and 11 girls). They live on our farm which hasn't had any poultry activity on it for over 30 years. I converted a camper for the coop (bad idea, whole different post), they have a huge fenced run and I've been allowing them to free range in the paddock and berry bushes for over a week now. What I'm asking for here is that experienced chicken owners let me know how much of this is just normal life with chickens or conversely if any of these things are unusual or indicators of a problem. It's hard to search these things to find out if they are normal behavior because everything I've seen or read presents them only as symptom of disease... I have no idea if a normal flock will have some degree of the behaviors without indicating a problem that requires treatment.

They lose a surprising amount of feathers- some of them seem "Dandruffy"- like the clear shell of the feather is splintering. Some have broken feathers. There are occasional kerfuffles over who rules the coop, so that might account for some of the feathers.

Some sneeze- today was the first time anyone had any "goo" come out when she sneezed, she goobered my arm, thankyouverymuch. It was clear. Her nostrils are clean. Everyone's nostrils look clean and clear.. just the occasional sneeze a few times a day.