1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Nesting box to low?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Dawggy Stile, Oct 11, 2010.

1. Dawggy Stile

Dawggy Stile Out Of The Brooder

Oct 7, 2010
    Ohio
    The 4 chickens are over 35 weeks old...they were givin to me a month ago... Is this nesting box to low? I haven't seen an egg yet!
    Would it help to build a shelf and raise that box?
    I have two box's for 6 chickens and thought of getting rid of one of em.
    Thanks!

[​IMG]

2. EggsForIHOP

EggsForIHOP Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2010
    TEXAS
    IDK...I'm no expert...but if it helps mine are all on the ground and most eggs end up in them (found a few of the first ones on the poop boards, but I think she was just too new to make it to the box or something, 'cause since then I haven't had any issues). just a little vote of confidence, not real advice...no expert...'member I'm new too [​IMG]

3. tuesdays chicks

tuesdays chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    stuart florida
    people say to build the boxes up but below the roosts, but I have mine on the floor and haven't had any trouble, since most hidden nests are on the ground anyway, put some golfballs or fake eggs in, the birds might just be adjusting to their new surroundings .

4. tuesdays chicks

tuesdays chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    stuart florida
    and i would keep both nest boxes, if you have 1 in the box and another wants to lay they need an alternative. some chickens can spend hours sitting in the box waiting to lay.

5. Tomhusker

Tomhusker Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    Hamburg, Iowa