New and need advice

BunnyBelle

In the Brooder
10 Years
Jun 9, 2009
Hi there,
Forgive me if I sound like a moron but I'm completely new to raising ducks and looking for help and advice. I don't have any ducks yet but trying to determine what breed and how many is a good starting point. I love the Pekin as my great-grandparents used to have these on their farm so that breed brings fond memories. Would they be a good starting point? I am looking for friendly and happy ducks. I know part of that is raising and socializing them properly though. I was considering getting 2 females and a male. If anyone has any suggestions for me though I will so greatly appreciate the imput.

Btw, a little about our home: We live on 4 acres in Vermont. The majority of the land is fenced. There is also about a 1/4 acre with very secure fencing which houses a chicken coop and chicken run. We are building a duck house as well for nights in this 1/4 acre area. Hopefully we will be able to expand the security fence by midsummer. The ducks will be able to roam the rest of the yard when I'm out there which is all of the time. We have a lot of predators in the area as you can imagine.

Any advice is welcome and appreciated!!

Jennifer

welcome-byc.gif
frow.gif
Three ducks is a good number to start with. I have a pekin, mallards, runners and mutts. The pekins are nice, so are the mallards. The runners are very funny but kind of high strung. They are not for someone who's looking for a friendly duck. At least not mine. I guess it depends on what you are looking for. You will find all sorts of people who have all different kind of ducks for different reasons. Are you wanting some that are good layers? Keep in mind that females can be noisey. Will you have neighbors nearby who may have a problem with that? Also keep in mind that no matter how many you start out with, you'll end up getting more!!!
lol.png