New Chickens and Eggs* Need HELP

lilsouthern228

In the Brooder
12 Years
Oct 15, 2007
Ok ill admit, im very new to having chickens. We jus got 4 hens and 1 rooster. Well last night one or more of the hens laid 2 eggs! i got so excited when i went outside and saw the eggs. Well anyway, i was wondering, when the eggs hatch, do we jus let the hens raise the chicks? or is there anything special we need to do or build for them in the coop. The eggs were laid last night so i have about 3 weeks till they hatch right? so i need some help quick! Im clueless!
barnie.gif

thanks

Do you have a broody hen or inqubator?
If you answer no to both then you need to eat the eggs, because ohterwise in 3 weeks you will have three week old eggs, and nothing else.

i have no idea! lol i live with a friend whose mom wanted chickens, and it seemed like i was the one having to do all the work for her chickens! lol all i know is i went in to the coop, that i built!, and there was two eggs in the little nest she make made out of the hay we put down. but we dont have an incubator, but i dont knwo what a broody hen is? lol i feel so dumb

ok i jus looked up a what a broody hen is. how do i know if she is one? go see if she's on the egg?

A broody hen is a hen who wants to sit on eggs and hatch them.
If she guards them, puffs up at you when you try to take the eggs, or starts squawking when you take them, you probably have a broody.

Some breeds of chickens never go broody, meaning they have no interest in hatching out eggs and some seem to be forever broody.

What breed are your chickens? Some breeds will sit on their eggs and hatch them, others don't at all (or very rarely) and some do as the whim hits.

If you're not sure, post pictures here if you can and I'm sure the wise chicken eggs-perts here can help you figure it out.

Welcome to the chicken world - it's addicting, I'll warn you!

Congratulations on your eggs! I know you are excited.