New Member Intro

jeanpr

In the Brooder
Nov 3, 2018
6
15
31
East Bay, San Francisco Bay Area
Greetings all,
I am looking forward to being part of this community. We love our girls.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
We received our first two chickens 6 years ago. They were a rescue from a friend who's husband had cancer and she did not have the time to take care of the flock. Since that time, one of the original chickens passed and we have added 4 more to the flock.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
Five

(3) What breeds do you have?
Blanche, the oldest chicken, is a Buff Orpington. We think she is about 8 years old
Sophie and Isabella are Easter Eggers and were born in February 2017
Nellie is a Sex Link and Amelia is a Plymouth Rock - both were born in February 2018

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
Their personality - they can be sweet and very funny. And the eggs

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
I am a knitter and triathlete. My Husband is a golfer that tries to keep up with me in the gym

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
Our other pet is a 12 year old lab that is very relaxed about the chickens. They jump all over him and he just looks at them.

(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community? :D
I have been lurking for about a year and decided to join. I realize I need the wisdom of this group.
 

New posts New threads Active threads

Top Bottom