New with a lot of questions

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Strangecacti, Jan 14, 2015.

1. Strangecacti

Strangecacti Out Of The Brooder

Jan 14, 2015
    Hello all,
    I'm just getting started with chickens, I have decided on Barred Rocks as I am looking for both egg and meat production. I am wondering (among other things) about flock separation, my plan is to build a coop/run for the meat birds, remodel the chicken coop in the barn for the layers, and keep a section for the rooster(s). In the end I want to be able to produce my own chicks two or three times a year to grow for meat as well as replace layers as they drop in production.I have room in my planned coop for 50 meat birds, the run will be 35' x 45' divided into 2 sections so I can alternate which they are in every week or two weeks, and am planning on 12 layers.
    Feeders and waterers': I am going to make J-tube feeders of 3" or 4" PVC, and waterers out of 5 gallon buckets. How many birds per feeder? How many birds per waterer?
    For the replacement birds I am looking for advice on what a good brooder hen would be, or, should I try to pick one out of my flock? Do I need a different coop/run for the broody and the chicks or can I keep them in with the layers?
    For the layers, in addition to the boxes, do I still need roost poles?
    I have more questions, but will try to find answers in the forums as I need but these are the most pressing as I will be ordering and building/remodeling coops and runs soon.
    Thanks!

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE