New with geese

jade_softtail

In the Brooder
10 Years
Oct 14, 2009
Waverly, Ohio
Thanks for all the input but I no longer have geese.
sad.png

Last edited:
The geese are just great with the chickens and the chickens should learn that the geese are fine but generally most of the time then the chickens do not like the geese but they do fine together! I feed mine just regular chicken pellets and that works really well... they don't need a feeder but for mine they seemed to like just a regular bucket for there feeder... you can buy those at a feed store or tractor supply if there is any near you! Some books that I like is the Book of Geese by Dave Hollerread and Domestic Geese but I forgot the author to that one! The eggs are good to cook with and I hear cooks of restaurants really like them!

I hope that helps you a little bit!

noahsgeese

Keep in mind that I am a rookie and probably don't know what I am talking about.

I brought 4 Toulouse geese home two nights ago. I was told by a bird guy that I could put them in the chicken house while I finished the Goose shed, but that my chickens would likely quit laying for a week or so. I put my first ducks with the chickens a couple weeks ago and those chickens are still laying, but they do not like the ducks one bit, so they will also have their own shed. My geese are presently in our cedar fenced courtyard while I finish their shed.

Hopefully they will all have their own condo by the end of this weekend or early next week. My ducks and geese will share the same yard/run and everything will free roam during the day.

The sheds I am building are small, 4x6 lean-to's, single wall construction. One for the 6 ducks and one for the 4 geese. They aren't too expensive, so if they turn out to be too small, I'll build more and connect them. Materials for two sheds cost me about $350 at Home Depot... total.