New

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by fieldsway, Oct 23, 2015.

1. fieldsway

fieldsway New Egg

Oct 23, 2015
    Hello my name is Sabrina and this is my first time on here! I recently got an blue English chicken I did have the rooster to match but a chicken hawk took off with it! Very sad! Now I added two roosters to my farm in my backyard lol not sure what kind they are. They are really big and pretty they look like show roosters.

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Sabrina

Glad you could join the flock! I'm sorry to hear about the loss of your rooster to a hawk :hugs;) We have some large buzzards that fly above us and they worry me too if I have my chickens out free ranging.

The what breed gender section would be a great place for you to post some pics of your new boys so other members could help you ID them. He is the link ~https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/15/what-breed-or-gender-is-this
    How many hens do you have with having 2 new boys?

Wishing you the very best of luck in the future. Be sure to ask any questions that you may have, everyone here to help and very friendly.

Enjoy BYC and all the chicken chat :frow

3. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    Hi Sabrina, [​IMG]

To avoid over-breeding, it's recommended to have about 10 hens per rooster...hope you have lots more girls!

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana