Newbie here - What do you think of this tractor?

louislinus

Hatching
9 Years
Oct 22, 2010
We are about to have our first foray into the world of hen tending and are hoping to buy a coop off CL. I found this one http://cleveland.craigslist.org/grd/2376019526.html. What do you think? Good for the price? Also, and this might be a stupid question, can I keep them in a tractor like this during the winter? Our winters here in northeast Ohio can be quite harsh. Lastly, we plan on starting with 4 hens and at the most would have 6. He says it's big enough for 10 but I'm unsure.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Hey there, It looks functional however I wouldn't think it will hold 6 chickens... I'm in Cleveland too BTW.
smile.png

Good luck! You can see all my info on my blog link below.

Definitely not big enough for 10 chickens...nor for 6 in my opinion. And during a harsh winter, one in which they might want to spend more time within the coop, definitely not enough room. However, this would be a great tractor in the good weather to move your birds around the property for controlled foraging.

Yay Chicks! :

Definitely not big enough for 10 chickens...nor for 6 in my opinion. And during a harsh winter, one in which they might want to spend more time within the coop, definitely not enough room. However, this would be a great tractor in the good weather to move your birds around the property for controlled foraging.

I agree. Looks like it would hold 3 comfortably.

BTW
welcome-byc.gif

That looks a bit small for up to 10 chickens. I bought a tractor kind of similar to that one with 2 hens, I wouldn't put more than 3-4 at the most in mine. Here's what I bought for $100.
IMG_8889.jpg

The construction looks pretty good on the one you are checking out, although if that's chicken wire you might want something stronger over it for reinforcement.