Newbie in Washington State with quick question

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 2buzy, Mar 1, 2013.

1. 2buzy

2buzy New Egg

Mar 1, 2013
    Hi I am brand new to the chicken world :)

I have been researching the heck out of everything in hopes of choosing a sweet breed that can embrace a crazy household. We are looking for egg layers.

I am hoping this is where I ask if for advice on if it is better to order the chicks online or at the co-op? I just don't want them stressed and don't know how much older they are in the store. We only wan to start with 3-5 chickcs.

Thanks for any direction / help on this adventure.
    Kate

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, 2Buzy, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined us! Good question! I think (but not sure) that co-ops get their birds from the same hatcheries you or I would. Personally, I've always had good luck with hatcheries and ordering through the mail. Below are a couple links you might find useful. The first is a chart that compares breeds by attribute. The second is a link to breeders and hatcheries. Happy reading!!

http://www.ithaca.edu/staff/jhenderson/chooks/chooks.html

https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/16/chicken-breeders-hatcheries

3. stake

stake Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2013
    Malvern, pa
    welcome aboard...and hello from PA. I am a newbie also. I would suggest finding breeds that will weather well and be more 'friendly'. Get you sea legs before diving in the deep end...lol, my two cents...

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]

5. thasista

thasista Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2011
    KY
    My Coop
    Hi from Kentucky![​IMG]
    [​IMG]

6. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC from northern Michigan [​IMG]