Not bubble foot!! He has frost bite :(

shay20

Shay's Flock of Fun
11 Years
Jul 31, 2008
in the wild, Mass
Hello, ok I am new to bubble foot, this is my firts bird with it.
I did a lot of resaerch about it but i am not finding what he is really going through.

He was in a cooped area, but was in with an agressive rooster that would kick everyone when feeding time.

I saw no injurys at all on his foot.

he has been inside on a wire cage bottom for about a week now or a little more.

We have been giveing him Bayer baby asprin 1 a day, and i just started to soak his foot.

i examined his foot today, and it looks really bad, at firts i said oh it is going down,

well i think i am wrong, it looks like he lost the use of his toes, his toe nails have blood lines right to the tip of his nails, and looks died, when i move his toes it stays where i put it.

and it looks as if the swellen is going up his leg, it is very hot.

we punch a whole nothing came out just a tiny bit of blood.
it looks as if it has already cracked right where his toes comes from the foot.

any other suggestions please? he is a very healthy bird other than that.

today we put clear nonsting iodine all over his foot and bandaged it up.

Ok i took a couple of pics, his foot is dead!!!
hit.gif
What do i do??

WHAT DO I DO? We wont cull him, any suggestions on amputateing the leg?

The foot on the left is the foot that is swollen and now dead. see the difference? this is the front of his feet.
13887_picture_216.jpg

this is the back of his feet.
13887_picture_214.jpg

this is the bottom of the bad foot, see how dark that part is, that part smells rotten , no blood no nothing.
13887_picture_215.jpg

Last edited:
Wow that si sgreat info, but this one it is not at the bottom of his foot anymore.

I am going to try to take pics later, it will be hard becouse my camara is not that good.