OK. My mind is totally blown! What is this!?!?

Pics
Jan 1, 2021
I am new to chickens. I have one hen that is laying and the rest are young pullets that are very close to the general age of laying. I found a big piece of what looks like skin. I had no idea what it was so I smelled it and it smelled like raw chicken so I know it came from one of my chickies. What in the WORLD is this? I hope they are ok. Please help ASAP.
On a probable unrelated note my ISA Brown hen that is laying is so skinny and sometimes she lays eggs everyday and when it get extremely hot outside she stopped laying eggs for 8 days, went back to laying about an egg a day. Recently layed 2 eggs in one day and none the next. Is this related? I have enclosed a photo of something weird she did in the coop. She has nest boxes that she lays in, one in particular that she favors but sometime between last night and this afternoon I noticed that all the hay has been pushed to the back of the coop like shes trying to make a nest?? Any info would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 20210615_203954.jpg
    20210615_203954.jpg
    696.9 KB · Views: 77
  • 20210615_203927.jpg
    20210615_203927.jpg
    439.5 KB · Views: 59
  • 20210615_203817.jpg
    20210615_203817.jpg
    531.6 KB · Views: 68
  • 20210615_203856.jpg
    20210615_203856.jpg
    249.4 KB · Views: 71
I found a big piece of what looks like skin.

I think it might be the "shell" of a softshell egg. That would be a thick membrane with maybe a tiny bit of calcium on the outside to make it stiffer. It would have originally been all around the egg, but got ripped open and the chickens ate the egg. The membrane is a pretty consistent thickness all over.

If the thing you found has lumps or thick parts, then it is something else and I don't know what to say.

But if it is the "shell" (membrane) of a softshell egg, and if it only happens once, you don't need to worry.