Omg The Unexpected Egg It Has Hatched

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bugland, Jul 11, 2010.

1. bugland

bugland New Egg

Jul 3, 2010
    Chicagoland
    um, hi, i'm Tam, a complete newbie, spouse of 6Happiness here in the forums. our Sylvia was unexpectedly inseminated by her rooster friend, Pasquale (how this could be unexpected shows how noob we are) and one, or possibly two, of her eggs turned out fertile. we were letting her brood them because she was so desperate to brood something, and candling the eggs improperly so we were sure they were all empty- then i was told how to candle them correctly, and found to my shock that one was full of Chick (the other is questionable; we're leaving it with her because obviously we know nothing about anything).

and this morning, in their big tank in the living room where they're living because it's so horrible hot everywhere else, under Sylvia there was THIS [​IMG] :

[​IMG]

his or her name is Beaky Doodle Dandy, after my sparrow who died recently, and because while she was brooding the eggs Sylvia did a lot of mumbling to herself, and i swear it sounded like "doodledoodledoodle."

here is his or her hind end:

[​IMG]

that is one tired chick. i don't see an egg-tooth- could it have broken off getting out of the egg?

we have no idea what it might be. Pasquale is some kind of duckwing- either a really pale golden, or a bad silver, with lacing (very pretty, though). Sylvia is a mongrel; one parent was an Orpington of some kind, and the other was god knows what. here she is as a pullet, with her dearly beloved twin Lydia, who died young:

[​IMG]

and here is Pasquale.

[​IMG]