Our Ameraucana, boy or girl?

I'm no expert by any means but that bird has yellow legs, a rose comb and appears to be silver laced, so my guess would be that it is a Silver laced Wyandotte and probably a roo with that amount of redness in it's comb and wattles at such a young age. An Ameraucana should, I think, have slate legs, a pea comb and probably not that colouring. Hopefully someone with experience of these breeds will chip in and confirm..... or maybe say I'm typing a load of tosh!,
roll.png

I'm no expert by any means but that bird has yellow legs, a rose comb and appears to be silver laced, so my guess would be that it is a Silver laced Wyandotte and probably a roo with that amount of redness in it's comb and wattles at such a young age. An Ameraucana  should, I think, have slate legs, a pea comb and probably not that colouring. Hopefully someone with experience of these breeds will chip in and confirm..... or maybe say I'm typing a load of tosh!,:rolleyes:   

X2! I'm not experienced but I saw SLW right away. Would definitely say cockerel.

I'm no expert by any means but that bird has yellow legs, a rose comb and appears to be silver laced, so my guess would be that it is a Silver laced Wyandotte and probably a roo with that amount of redness in it's comb and wattles at such a young age. An Ameraucana should, I think, have slate legs, a pea comb and probably not that colouring. Hopefully someone with experience of these breeds will chip in and confirm..... or maybe say I'm typing a load of tosh!,
roll.png
Yup, that is no Ameraucana. Definitely a cockerel most likely a hatchery quality SLW.

Last edited:
Thanks yeah we looked up pictures and it's a SLW for sure. The feed store said it was a Ameracanna and supposed to a hen.