Our Dominiques Roo is driving us BANANAS pls help!!!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jennifernadya, Aug 17, 2016.

1. jennifernadya

jennifernadya New Egg

Aug 17, 2016
    Hi everyone, this is my first post on any kind of forum. My husband and I have been raising chickens for about four years but never a rooster as we have been in a town environment until this spring, now we reside on a farm with about 80 acres. We decided to get a rooster to add extra protection for our hens, as you can imagine fox and raccoons and hawks are a major prob in the country in New York. Our flock all came together and our rooster is now 4 months old. 14 hens and 2 roosters. 1 rooster was supposed to be a darn cornish hen but oops. in the last month our Dominiques rooster has learned his crow and has not stopped since! He crows starting at 545am (to be expected!) but keeps on going. It gets worse when my husband works on the farm and makes any kind of noise, or if either of us go near the hens. Even if all is quiet, he still crows pretty much all day long to the point where my husband is thinking of culling him. He can't stand the thought of resorting to this, so before culling, I want to make sure we arent missing something, like-- he's an adolescent and it will change, or, we are doing something wrong. He has been aggressive with both my husband and I, pecking us if we get to close to him and posturing and doing this macho dance while lounging toward us, running at us, etc. Any ideas??? Thank you so much my fellow chicken raising friends-- [​IMG]

2. LRH97

LRH97 Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Jul 29, 2013
    Southern Illinois