Our first Peafowl.....can they roost with our chickens??

petitesphinx

Songster
11 Years
Aug 20, 2008
Alabama
We finally got our first Peafowl; I have been DREAMING about owning a pair since I was a weeee little thing.

We have them in a dog kennel/crate in the chicken coop (VERY large coop-half side of whole barn) so they know where they are.

Questions:

Can they roost with our chickens and guineas?

How long do we need to keep them in the cage before setting them free to roam the yard?

They don't seem to want to eat the chicken feed we have for the chickens, is it the wrong feed or are they just settling in?

Will they hurt or eat our little chicks that are in the coop with them?

Thank you thank you!! I'm new at chickens and super new at having Peafowl!!
lol.png

how old are the peafowl? I dont mixes chicken with peafowl. I know many do,and if you free range them little harm in free range them together.
Welcome too the peafowl world.

birds048.jpg

Thank you! We plan to let our roam around are yard (12 acres in the middle of the country) so we're hoping they're plenty safe.

Is that your bird?? He is STUNNING!! Wow! We got one male and 2 girls (peahens?) and they're white with the browns, greens and blues. The seller said that they can throw whites, blues or browns when they lay. I'm crossing my fingers for a pure white!!

Great question, I should know this! Oh, I'll have to call the guy. I believe they're under two. They have feathers and are quite large, but I don't think they're over two.

Yes he is one of mine.

Best to keep your pen for about 6 weeks before letting them free range. then make sure no Dogs around to scare them. Let the peacock out first he should stay around the peahens.

Sound like you have pieds or silver pied. Pied X pied = 25% white chicks. By brown are they Cameo or Bronze???

If 2 yr. now the peacock should have a full train this spring. Will breed at 2yr old.

Here is a pic. of a purple pied.

birds056.jpg