Overnight Water in Coop a Necessity ?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Lost Pine, Nov 7, 2016.

1. Lost Pine

Lost Pine Out Of The Brooder

Apr 20, 2016
    Smithville NJ
    I'm a newbie to BYC's but love it. I have a 4x4 coop with 4 hens in it and was wondering if water is needed overnight. They just seem to make a mess out of it, and they get plenty of water through the day. It is November and I'm in NJ. I know there are a lot of nipple feeders I could build for the coop, but probably won't get it done before winter.

Your thoughts ......................

2. Folly's place

Folly's place Overrun With Chickens

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    Chickens want to eat and drink when it gets light, and I'm not out there at dawn, so I've got water and food in the coop. If the waterer doesn't leak, and is up at shoulder height for the smallest birds, there's much less mess. Mary

3. TeeMom

TeeMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2016
    Kansas
    I originally always had water in the coop, but I have nipple waterers and mine leak. They're much better when we replace the nipples, but never perfect and I found they were making a huge mess. We put a waterer just outside the coop door and they have two others on the property (they free range). They seem to drink up just before they go in and right after they leave in the morning. I don't feel like it's made a difference other than keeping the coop completely dry. BUT, my kids are up every morning at 6 a.m., so the coop is opened up early without fail every morning before the sun is up.

4. Abby32922

Abby32922 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 7, 2016
    Hi, and welcome to BYC!!! In my opinion, chickens ( like all other pets ) should have constant access to water. We use nipple waterers and they work great! All you gotta do is order or buy them ( I think we got ours at Tractor Supply Co. ), put holes in the bottom of a bucket, and fill it up [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 7, 2016
  5. ChickenCanoe