Please describe a broody muscovy!

savingdogs

Crowing
13 Years
Aug 2, 2009
Southwestern Washington State
Okay, I'm a duck newbie. I have muscovy hens (and a drake) that I purchased last spring. They have been laying nice eggs for awhile. We recently put up the winter quarters, ducky Taj Mahal, complete with nesting areas, feeding areas and a covered ramp/porch. All from recycled materials, so not particularly pretty but the ducks are pleased. Overlooks their pond.
One has been acting strange for a few days, doesn't seem to walk around much, hangs out inside the Taj Mahal and keeps its neck kind of low. My ducks free range in the goat paddock, so it is possible that she was stepped on by a frolicking goat or otherwise injured, but we see nothing outwardly wrong and she is eating and drinking, etc. But usually she is sitting on the nest, from which I have removed eggs, not necessarily hers, as they all like to lay in this same nest.

It is getting real dark here so far north on the globe and we do not light or heat the Taj Mahal, could she be going broody in November? I wasn't expecting this until spring and have been removing all eggs. Would ducklings hatched in wintery, snowy conditions survive? I wanted to raise ducklings but did not picture this as the time of year. She seems to squack at me when I go in and remove eggs more than before as well, but all my ducks are very shy, won't eat out of my hand.

Could this be broodiness?
idunno.gif

Sounds like she's broody, and if she or the other hens are laying eggs then it does mean they'll sit on them at this time of year
smile.png

A broody duck usually stays pretty fluffed up, generally will be snappy and grumpy at the other ducks (mine tends to chase the dog around) and will squeak alot. Mine tucks in her neck, wags her tail, fluffs herself up and squeaks/hisses at the dog and other young ducks.