Please help - I think I have two roosters!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ashephe2, Jan 5, 2012.

1. ashephe2

ashephe2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2012
    Hi everyone,

I'm very new to chickens, and a month ago my husband and I bought two 11 week old lavender araucana pullets. They were still quite little, making cute peeping sounds and quite timid. Since then they've grown quite a lot, and have started to become quite aggressive. They sometimes wait until we turn away from them and then run after us, flapping their wings and pecking at our ankles. The most concerning thing, though, is that one of them has started to crow! 3 mornings in a row, between 6 - 7, it has crowed loudly and repeatedly. It is a bit off tune but it's definitely a cock-a-doodle-do! Should we know by the age of 15 weeks whether they are roosters or not? Can a hen spontaneously start crowing? I will try to post a photo...

Thanks for any help or ideas, very much appreciated!

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    If you post a pic we can tell you if they're male or female. Although, the saying is......wait til it crows or lays an egg. I'm thinking you have your answer, to one at least!

3. ashephe2

Jan 5, 2012
    [​IMG]

Oh gosh - here's a photo - hope it works!

4. hdowden

hdowden Overrun With Chickens

Aug 14, 2011
    louisiana
    the one facing the camrea is a roo the other cant see its comb to tell but feather wise they look pullets though but if ones crowing then i would guess roo on it although a dominat hen that has no roos may crow. if you can get pics of their heads to see both combs it could help

5. BlazeJester

BlazeJester Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Midway, GA
    Quote:x2 on the one facing the camera being a roo. The other one is hard to tell because you can't see its face.