Poults dying off one by one

journey11

Crowing
14 Years
Feb 14, 2009
WV
I bought 6 Bourbon Red poults from an individual a little over two weeks ago. They were 5 days old at the time. About a week ago the first one died, then two more, a couple days between each one. Prior to kicking the bucket, the only thing I noted was that they were very sleepy looking just the day before they died, although they'd perk up if I picked them up and I observed no mess around their vents or any discharge near the nostrils or eyes. In order to get a 24% protein feed, I wasn't able to get it as medicated, but they are on clean, dry straw bedding. The breeder said he doesn't use medicated feed either and had no trouble with his. This is my first time raising turkeys and I was surprised how quiet and shy they are compared to chicks. Is that normal? I have yet to observe them eating or drinking as all they do is hunker down when they see me coming. They don't seem to eat much, compared to chicks either, although the food and water levels have gone down somewhat each time I check on them. Their poo is normal looking not runny or too dry. The ones that have died so far did not have any food in their crops when I looked them over. As best I can tell, maybe they are just dehydrated? I water all of my livestock with water from my cistern. I've been putting poultry vitamins in the water as you usually do with chicks. Should I switch them to city water instead or will the sudden change to chlorine in their water possibly kill them too? I have also started putting PoultryDrench in the water. Any advice will be much appreciated. Bought these as a gift to my husband. It will really bum me out if they all die.

I also sterilized all of my chick equipment before use and they are separated away from all of my chickens and other animals.