Power Outage...did eggs die?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chicklets81, Mar 20, 2017.

1. chicklets81

chicklets81 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2017
    Hello,
    I'm new to BYC, and incubating.

I started my first round of incubating chicken eggs a few weeks ago, and at day 17, we had a power outage. I didn't know what to do at first, so I let the incubator get to 60 degrees for 6 hours. Then I got the idea to put the eggs in oven with candles. I did this for the remaining 12 hours of the outage (it lasted total 30 hours).

The incubator was up and running again after 30 hours of being off. This morning was day 23, and no chicks yet. What are the chances the eggs have died? Any thoughts?

Thanks

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    Here's an article by Brinsea that may help you: http://www.brinsea.com/Articles/Advice/PowerOff.aspx

60 degrees for six hours at that stage, probably would be too much for them. They are developing some body heat at that point, but not enough to sustain them for that long I wouldn't think. Even a newly hatched chick needs a heated brooder with temps around 95 to keep from getting chilled and dying. I wouldn't hold out much hope. I would candle and look for life, but it would surprise me if there were survivors. Good luck.

3. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2013
    Hilo, HI
    The same thing happened to me - power outage. Within minutes put the eggs in an egg carton, wrapped it with a towel & stuffed it in the oven with candles under the rack with a bowl of water, closed the door but it was only for a few hours. It was years ago don't recall what stage the eggs were at, they survived. As AmyLynn2374 suggested it's probably been too long however but candle to check. Good luck and update us.

4. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Have you candled them?