Prayers needed for Police Officer ~ new update page 1

sgtmom52

Birds & Bees
12 Years
Jun 1, 2007
Northern York County ~ Pennsylvania
I woke up this morning and found this on the news. This officer works in the area I live in and adjoining to the City where I was an Officer for 28 years before retiring. Most likely I know him and am praying for him & his family and the DUI prisoner he was transporting after this horrific accident. The pictures of the vehicle are frightening.

Officer & Prisoner Injured

229px-Thin_Blue_Linesvg.png

4/20/11
The officer's name is Matthew Groff he is 24 years old and has only been an officer for 1 year. He is in critical condition in the ICU. He is in a medically induced coma with his most serious injuries being a fractured skull, brain swelling and lung injuries. Each day is a step toward his survival and recovery.

The 22 year old DUI suspect he was transporting is now in satisfactory condition and expected to make a full recovery. His most serious injury was a fractured pelvis. Truly amazing considering the severity of the crash.

4/21/11
At 1500 hours yesterday hospital staff removed Matt's breathing tube. After this he was able to talk(whisper) and communicate. He was shaking hands(as best he could) and recognized people as they came into the room. His cervical collar has been removed and he is doing much better than anyone expected at this point. His family thanks everyone for their thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

4/22/11
Here is the latest update which is copied from an email from one of his fellow officers...