put 13 wk olds back on starter??

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by hensonly, Jan 5, 2011.

1. hensonly

hensonly Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2008
    upstate NY
    HI, all,

I have 26 dorkings, 13 weeks old yesterday. I know they aren't as fast maturing as the hatchery birds, and they seem a reasonable size for their age (not that I have lots of experience!!). But I've had a couple of incidents of tail-feather picking (pine tar took care of it) and I was wondering if that's the age, with the roos starting to mature and getting bossier, or if maybe they need the higher protein because they're trying to grow in the colder weather.

I started giving them some BOSS this past week and haven't seen any new feather picking since, but I don't want to give them too much BOSS and throw their diets off balance...if they need more protein, should I put them back on the starter/grower 20%? At 10 weeks (per the instructions on the feed bag) I switched them to grower/finisher 15%. As I said, their size seems ok, none of them have a ton of meat on them yet. Is this a natural growth pattern, or do they need a little boost because of the colder weather?

Thanks for any input.

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

You could also try a seed block for them to peck at.
    Double their space, or divide them up, if possible.
    Feed a can of cat food to increase protein.
    Hang a cabbage from a cord.
    Dim the lights. Too much light often causes intense behaviors.

Best of luck

3. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    I agree with previous poster in that they need more space or other things to peck at for entertainment rather than each other. 13 weeks is rambunctous adolecents. You've no doubt noticed they're chirp was changing to cluck in the past week. The lil' nippers are growing up.

4. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio