Question about coop ventilation

dtress

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jan 2, 2012
I have a compact (3x3x3 feet) coop with a small door that I close at night, and a sliding plexiglass window (1x1 foot) with screen on the side of the coop. Otherwise, there is no ventilation. I have read that this is essential for health. (We lost a bird to sudden death last week, so I'm considering all possible causes).

If I have the window slid open 2 inches in the winter, is that enough ventilation? If I want to remedy this problem, does anyone have any suggestions? I am trying to avoid having to take apart the house. It has a traditional upside down "V" roof line that overhangs a few inches. If I drill a few 2 inch holes along the top under the overhang and then cover the holes on the inside with wire, would this do the trick and keep mice/birds/predators out?

Any advice would be helpful!

It would help if you posted pictures. how many and how big of chickens do you have in it ?
frow.gif

I am new to this site, so it might take me a minute (or more) to figure out how to attach a picture. The coop looks like a little dog house with one window on the side. I have five 13 week old hens in there. They have plenty of space I think. I clean the roosting trays every few days and remove all the shavings every 7-10 days.

3 x 3 is 9 square feet. You would probably want to limit it to 2 or 3 full size chickens. Some will use 2 sq feet per bird but our 4 x 6 coop was WAY too small for our 2 chickens by the time they were just a few months old. With that short height it will be tough to add ventilation that doesn't create a draft on them while they roost.

My rule is if it stinks inside,Its unhealthy for your birds. I say VENTALATION,VENTALATION,VENTALATION!!! I use screen pens with small coop style wind breaks.Depending where you live.I am in TEXAS so its not too cold here.