Questions about incubating eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by BantamMama13, Oct 21, 2013.

1. BantamMama13

BantamMama13 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 19, 2013
    Maine
    I was wondering if it was ok to incubate the egg as soon as it is laid, or do I need to stockpile them until there are a certain amount? I have one egg in my incubator right now, and I expect another egg to be laid today. Can I put them in the incubator one at a time? How will this affect the hatching of later eggs, or the earlier eggs? I am new to incubation and chickens! I had my mother hen hatch her first batch with me, but we ended up losing all ten chicks that hatched. I am trying to prevent further mishaps by doing this myself!

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    It is possible to do a staggered hatch, but it's difficult when you need to lock down, up the humidity, regulate the humidity while still turning the later eggs etc. For the best hatch results rather stockpile the eggs and set them all at the same time. Ideally you should store them no longer than 10 days, but if needed you can store them as long as 2 weeks and still get fairly good hatch results. Store them in a cool, fairly humid place, at a temperature of around 55-65*F.

3. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

no.. you don't NEED to "lockdown" .. that is a myth

You also do not NEED to up the humidity for every hatch

I have staggered hatches all of the time since we are constantly adding in new eggs.. I do take a small break here and there for each incubator in order to clean it (we usually are running 5 to 6 incubators and all contain staggered hatches).. however it's perfectly fine to leave the humidity alone at hatch and open the incubator as needed . I hand turn eggs 5 times a day.. so my incubators are opened a lot..