Raising Chickens withOUT using DE?

CritterHill

Crowing
15 Years
Feb 3, 2008
SE PA
Does anyone raise their chickens without the use of diatomaceous earth?

My neighbor keeps bees and I don't want to risk injuring a hive with the stuff.

We are in the "clear the land and build the coop" stage of chicken rearing, so I have no experience yet.

It seems like it is pretty prevalent from what I am reading on this site. Just curious how prevalent it is and if people do raise them without the stuff.

If I decide to go that route, anything I should watch out for?

Thanks!

Welcome to BYC!

I raise without. I can not get it locally and hate paying shipping. I use poultry dust in their bedding and occasionally on them and apple cider vinager in their water as a worm preventer.

Last edited:
I am not really sure what DE has to do with chickens either. I don't use it , my girls are happy & healthy.....

Just a thought, if you *want* to use it for parasite control but want to be bee-safe, just dust it around *inside* their coop, the bees aren't likely to be hanging out in there
smile.png

Of course you can perfectly well go entirely without, it's just that if you have mite or lice problems, you will be stuck using Sevin, which is not necessarily as harmless (like, to people etc) as food grade DE. Plenty of people do it though.

Pat

Some of us use DE to help with keeping the henhouse sweet smelling on the litter, helps keep it dry...keep bugs at bay like lice and mites on the chickens and use it as a wormer in their feed....you don't need to use it if you don't want too or can't find it...

If you don't have a hundred hens dustbathing next to the hives I wouldn't think this would be an issue, but maybe someone who's had a bad experience will chime in.

We have `wild' hives that use the hollows at the base of big hickory snags (sometimes a few make it into the run, but they never last long enough to make any assessments about the toxicity of DE!).