Red Star questions

AmberHoff

Chirping
7 Years
Mar 29, 2014
Oregon
Hi,

I'm a newbie. No chickens yet. Doing research - hoping to get some pullets by this summer. I have been scoping out the breeds boards. Looking at all the factors I want in hens (seldom broody, dual purpose) I am leaning towards the Red Star breed and maybe the Plymouth Rocks. I can only have 3 so I was thinking 2 Red Star's and 1 Plymouth Rock.

A few questions, some comments were that the Red Stars can be mean to more docile breeds - will this be an issue with Plymouths?

I have a 16 month toddler - will they be aggressive with them? We will not have a rooster or be brooding any chicks. Eggs to eat only.

I also think a Welsummer looks interesting. How do they compare to a Red Star as far as temperament and egg laying?

Thank you,

Amber

I have liked my Red Stars, they tend to be dominant hens, but I don't really find them to be bullys. I have a mixed flock with a lot of different breeds and they fit right in, they do tend to be among the top chickens at the feeders. They are really good with people, tend to be very friendly to the point where they are a nuisance following you around and trying to get indoors etc. They are exceptional layers of big brown eggs. The one negative is they do not tend to be very long lived, most of that is from their breeding since they are a commercial cross that is meant to lay a ton of eggs until they are about two years old and then be culled. They are prone to reproductive problems as they get older.
The Rocks (various colors) I have/ had are lower in the pecking order than the Stars, they don't lay quite as well. They are usually fairly friendly also, but are more quiet about it, the Stars are more Me Me Me, the Rocks more Yes Ma'am Whatever you say.